Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

8th Annual Real Estate Challenge

Saturday, April 14, 2018 @ 12:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Standard Club, 320 S Plymouth Ct., Chicago, IL


Graduate Division Winner:

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Undergraduate Division Winner:

Marquette University

Honorable Mentions: 

Roosevelt University (Graduate Division)

Ohio State University (Undergraduate Division)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Undergraduate Division)

Each team had exceptional presentations on the parcels of land on the shore of Lake Michigan in Waukegan, IL.

The Graduate Division team was comprised of Bradley Berg, Jen Concepcion, Kristopher Kobernus, Rebecca Palmer, Jesse Thomas, and Logan Walker with Roger Cannaday, Karen Mitchell McGrath, Sophie Sianis, and Alexei Tchistyi, as their advisers.

The Undergraduate Division team was comprised of Keegan Barrett, Allison Benedetto, Luis Herrer, and Hannah Thiry with Dan Cowell, Andy Hunt, and Mark Eppli as their advisers.


The Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation’s annual Real Estate Challenge matches teams from selected universities in a competition focusing on a high-profile development/redevelopment project in the Chicago Metropolitan area. Each team is assigned the same Case Site and provided the same essential information and/or assumptions about the Property. The students’ development plan must constitute a comprehensive analysis and conclusion of how to maximize the potential of the Property from both a quantitative (financial) and qualitative (feasibility) standpoint. Learn more about the program and see past winners.







The 2018 Challenge focused on a pair of parcels totaling 11 acres located on the shore of Lake Michigan in Waukegan, IL. Once the core of the community’s renowned commercial base, the sites were vacant and awaiting a transformative redevelopment. The challenge sites were situated roughly a quarter mile from Downtown, the Waukegan Metra station, and Waukegan Harbor as indicated in the map above (see the red outlines).  

Each student team acted as a separate investment team seeking to persuade the investment committee to purchase and redevelop the site into a dynamic project. Proposals outlined a development plan that would redevelop the site into a dynamic real estate project with the most optimal financial returns for the organization. The investment committee looked for teams to submit proposals that are both realistic but also metamorphic for the area in the years to come.



Indiana University
Marquette University
Roosevelt University (Graduate)
Saint Louis University
The Ohio State University
University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign (Graduate)
University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign (Undergraduate)
University of Missouri
University of Notre Dame


The Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation
540 W. Frontage Rd., Suite 2210   Northfield, IL 60093
847-433-3050   info@eisenbergfoundation.org